Saturday, May 18, 2024

Documents Required To Apply For EWS Certificate

The Directorate of Education, under the Right to Education (RTE) Act, 2009, has reserved 25% of seats for the students who are from the category of Economical Weaker Section (EWS), Disadvantage Group (DG), and Children with Special Needs (CWSN) category.

The EWS certificate is provided to the candidates who are from the economically weaker section of society. This category is different from other backward classes or SC and ST categories. It is a new kind of reservation for the people in the general category. Here, in this article, we have shared full details such as the application form, eligibility requirements, validity, important documents, etc.

The EWS sub-category is effective since 2019. Gujarat was the first state to pass the bill, on 14th January 2019. The Indian government has given 10% of reservations for general category candidates under the EWS subcategory. This 10% does not cover OBC, SC, & ST Categories. This 10% is not considered a caste certificate but an income certificate. Candidates who want to attempt government jobs or want to get admission to schools or for college admission and who fall under the EWS category can avail of the reservation issued by the government.

Candidates can apply for an EWS certificate online or check offline to get an EWS certificate through different designated resources.

See Also: How CIPS Certification Reveals Your Expertise in Procurement Management

Who is eligible for the EWS program?

  • The annual income of the candidate’s family must be less than Rs. 8 lakhs.
  • Their family should have less than 5 acres of farmland.
  • The size of the residential flat should be less than 1000 square feet.
Read More   Certified Ethical Hacker Certification: What You Should Know

. Residential plot of 100 sq. yards and above in notified municipalities.

. The residential plot of 200 sq. yards and above in areas other than the notified municipalities.

  • The term “family” for this purpose will include the candidate’s parents, siblings below the age of 18 years, his/her spouse, and children below the age of 18 years.

What documents are required to apply for EWS Certificate?

We have compiled a list of the necessary documents needed to apply for the certificate.

If you fail to produce any of the documents mentioned below, there are high chances that your application is rejected. So, go through the list and make sure that you have all these documents to get an EWS certificate.

  • Passport size Photograph
  • EWS Certificate Application Form
  • Ration card/ Epic card/ Adhaar card
  • ID Proof (voter ID, Pan Card, etc.)
  • Affidavit or self-declaration
  • Domestic Certificate
  • Residential Proof
  • Land or Property Documents
  • Copy of IT Returns/ Pay slips or any other document
  • Valid document proving family income & Asset

EWS Certificate Application Fee

The application fee is declared by the issuing authority of the state government. The fee will be dependent on the officials issuing the EWS certificate.

How can you apply for the EWS Certificate?

Candidates who want to claim for EWS certificate under the general category can apply for the same through online and offline modes. The application procedure is solely dependent on the state government. To apply online, visit the respective portal and click on the link as available to apply for the certificate.

Read More   The Power of Automation: How ServiceNow Can Streamline Your Workflow

To apply offline, candidates need to visit the nearby certificate issuing authorities and collect the application form. Also, one can download the application form, through the official website and take a printout of it.

Check out the format for the EWS certificate. It may vary depending on the state.

EWS Certificate 2
Income & Asset Certificate Format (EWS)

Once your Ews Certificate is ready, you can apply to multiple schools under the EWS quota allocated to all the schools. But always keep in mind the deadlines for the application because seats are limited.

See Also: Tips to clear NEET exams

Authorities issuing the EWS certificate

The EWS certificate is issued by a competent authority, who produces the income and the asset certificate for the candidates. These competent authorities are:

  • DM (district magistrate)
  • Revenue officer
  • Chief precedence magistrate
  • Sub-divisional officer

EWS certificate validity

Each certificate has a specific period for validation. Usually, the validity of such a certificate is for one year. If a candidate uses a certificate for any purpose such as for admission to college/universities, or employment, the officials will be verifying the validity of the certificate.

See Also: What do I write my college admissions essay about

Author Bio – Abhilasha Rai-she is one of the best content writers we have at Ezyschooling. She has 3+ years of experience in educational content writing – Ezyschooling is a technologically driven admission platform that bridges the gap between admission-seeking parents and schools. We are making admission easy for parents, hence making their life stress-free.

Was this article helpful?
A Aadithya is a content creator who publishes articles, thoughts, and stories on a blog, focusing on a specific niche. They engage with their audience through relatable content, multimedia, and interacting with readers through comments and social media.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles